What is Social Archiver?

Social Archiver is an Obsidian plugin that saves social media posts directly into your vault as beautifully formatted markdown notes.

The Problem

Social media platforms are ephemeral. Posts disappear, accounts get deleted, platforms shut down. Valuable content you care about can vanish overnight.

The Solution

Social Archiver gives you permanent, searchable archives of social media content in your personal knowledge base:

• Markdown Format: Clean, readable notes with proper formatting
• Media Preservation: Downloads and embeds all images and videos
• Profile Crawling: Bulk-archive recent posts from any creator's profile
• Subscriptions: Automatically archive new posts from creators you follow
• Timeline Feed: Browse all your archives in a filterable, searchable timeline view
• Web Sharing: Share your archived posts to the web with public timelines
• Rich Metadata: YAML frontmatter with timestamps, platform info, link preview cards, and more

Supported Platforms

Archive posts from 12 major platforms: Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, TikTok, X/Twitter, Threads, YouTube, Reddit, Pinterest, Substack, Mastodon, and Bluesky. More platforms are being added continuously.

Key Features

Archiving Process

When you archive a post, a note appears instantly in your vault while the full content downloads in the background. You'll get live updates as it processes, and it automatically tries again if something fails (up to 3 times). Choose how much to save: just text, text with images, or everything including videos. Any links mentioned in posts get their previews automatically added.

Profile Crawling & Subscriptions

Go beyond single posts—archive entire profiles at once. Enter a creator's profile URL to bulk-archive their recent posts with customizable time ranges and post counts. Enable subscriptions to automatically archive new posts daily, with smart deduplication that skips content you've already saved.

Timeline View

See all your saved posts in one scrollable feed. Switch to Media Gallery mode for a Pinterest-style layout showing all images and videos from your archives. Filter by platform, search for keywords, or browse by date. You can also write and publish your own posts right from the timeline, complete with images and optional web sharing.

Web Sharing

Share your archived posts to the web with your personal public timeline. Choose between two sharing modes: Preview mode (copyright-safe with text excerpts and platform links, no media) or Full mode (complete original content). Each shared post gets its own permanent URL, and your username provides access to all your public posts in a real-time timeline that updates automatically.

Getting Started

Ready to start archiving? Head to the Getting Started Guide.

Pro Tip

Start with text-only mode to test, then enable media downloads once you're comfortable.